Michael McCarthy
Michael McCarthy

Michael McCarthy (Chair)

Michael is the Director of Cloud Infrastructure Ireland. He was appointed as Chair of the National Oversight and Audit Commission in September 2018. He was an elected TD for the Cork South-West constituency from 2011 to 2016. He is a former member of the Daíl Public Accounts Committee. He was elected to Seanad Éireann, for the period 2002-2011. Michael was an elected member of Cork County Council from 1999 to 2003.

Mr Brian Cawley

Brian Cawley

Brian was formerly Director General of the Institute of Public Administration (IPA), and currently works as an independent consultant in public sector reform and in leadership and change management, working with a wide range of clients in Ireland, EC and internationally. He has extensive experience of working with central and local government in Ireland. Brian is a graduate of Trinity College Dublin and the University of Leicester, and holds an MSc in Training and Development and a Doctorate in Social Sciences.

Mary Hurley, NOAC Board member

Mary Hurley

Mary is a member of the NOAC Board. Further details will follow on this member.

margaret lane NOAC

Margaret Lane

Margaret is an executive coach and has extensive experience in finance and HR across the commercial, semi-state and public sectors. She has held the post of Strategic HR Director, Ervia (Parent company for Gas Networks Ireland and Irish Water). Her previous posts include HR Executive Roles, Board Gais Group, Cork City Council. Among her other positions, she is a member of the Audit Committee of the NSSO and has valuable experience as she currently chairs the Audit Committee in the Office of the Ombudsman.

Niall Quinn member of NOAC

Niall Quinn

Niall is a barrister working in general practice on the Dublin, Eastern and Northern Circuits. Prior to commencing practice at the Bar he was a strategic communications specialist for almost 20 years and is a former President of the Public Relations Institute of Ireland (PRII) and non-executive Director of the Public Relations Consultants Association. He continues to lecture in strategic communications and crisis communications at the PRII and to be engaged for strategic communications assignments. A BSc (Mgmt) graduate of Trinity College Dublin, he studied law at King’s Inns, Dublin and was called to the Bar in 2015.

Declan Breathnach

Declan Breathnach

Declan has been a member of the Parliamentary Budgetary and Oversight Committee, Vice Chairperson of the Good Friday Agreement Implementation Committee and Vice chairperson of the British-Irish Parliamentary Association. He was a member of Louth County Council from 1991 to 2016 and served as Dáil Deputy for Louth from 2016 to 2020. A former Primary school teacher and Principal, Declan has over 40 years of public service.

NH Profile Picture

Noel Harrington

Noel is currently Office Manager and Postmaster at An Post, Castletownbere, Co Cork.  He was an elected member of Cork County Council from 1999 until 2011 and an elected member of Dáil Éireann serving from 2011 to 2016. Previous roles included; Member of the Oireachtas Committee on Public Oversight and Petitions, Chairperson of Cork County Council, Chairperson of The South West Regional Authority, Chairperson of Cork County Corporate Policy Group and Member of West and North Cork Local Enterprise Board.

CH Snipped

Ciarán Hayes

Ciarán Hayes retired as Chief Executive of Sligo County Council on 1 January 2021 following a 42-year career across five Local Authorities including Galway City Council, Kilkenny County Council, Dublin County Council and Dún Laoghaire Corporation. He has a BA Degree in Public Management and a Higher Diploma in Computer Studies and is presently undertaking a Fellowship in Harvard University studying Climate Change. In addition to his Chief Executive role in Sligo, he led the Local Government response to Climate Change and to the establishment of the Climate Action Regional Offices (CARO).

Philomena Poole profile picture

Philomena Poole

Philomena Poole is the former Chief Executive of Dun-Laoghaire Rathdown County Council (retired in May 2021). She was previously County Manager in Louth County Council. In these roles Philomena was responsible for the economic, social, cultural and environmental development of the county having spent over 40 years in local government. Leading large teams to deliver on significant infrastructure and social programmes as well as driving organisation transformation have been key to these roles. She has worked on leadership programmes and philanthropy initiatives with Co-Operation Ireland and holds a Masters Degree in Executive Coaching.