NOAC’s Mission Statement

NOAC will independently oversee the local government sector by reviewing the financial and operational performance of bodies within its remit, overseeing implementation of national local government policy and identifying opportunities for best practice.

NOAC’s values

NOAC is committed to operating to the highest standard of integrity and fairness in discharging its duties.

The members of NOAC are:

   Michael McCarthy (chairperson)

Michael is the CEO of the Irish Solar Energy Association. He was appointed as Chair of the National Oversight and Audit Commission in September 2018. He was an elected TD for the Cork South-West constituency from 2011 to 2016. He is a former member of the Daíl Public Accounts Committee. He was elected to Seanad Éireann, for the period 2002-2011. Michael was an elected member of Cork County Council from 1999 to 2003.

   Tara Buckley

  Tara Buckley is Director General of RGDATA (Retail Grocery Dairy & Allied Trades Association) which represents the interests of 4,000 Irish family-owned shops, convenience stores and supermarkets. A graduate of Trinity College Dublin and former journalist and political correspondent, Tara is a member of the Government’s Retail Consultation Forum; the Brexit Forum at the Department of Business, Enterprise and Innovation, the Garda Strategic Retail Forum; the National Waste Management Forum; the Retail Forum at the Food Safety Authority and the National Planning Framework Advisory Group.

   Constance Hanniffy

Constance Hanniffy is a graduate of NUI Galway and holds a BA (Hons) in Community and Family Studies. She was an elected member of Offaly County Council from 1974 to 2014 and a member of the Midlands Regional Authority from 1994 to 2014. She was also a member of the Irish delegation to the Committee of the Regions from 1998 to 2014. She is a Board Member of the Sue Ryder Foundation and a member of the Offaly County Council Audit Committee. She is a past member of the National Economic and Social Forum (NESF) and of the Taoiseach’s Devolution Commission (1995-97) which made recommendations to Government on local government reform. She previously served as a member of the D/ECLG’s Consultative Committee on the Local Government Reform Green Paper. She is a past member of the BMW Regional Assembly and the former Chair of its EU monitoring committee.

   David Holohan

David Holohan (BCOMM, MBA, APA, C Dir, M.Inst.D, CMgr FCMI, Chartered FCSI) is Head of Equity Strategy at Mediolanum Asset Management. He was previously Chief Investment Officer at Merrion Capital and has worked in asset management firms and hedge funds, both in London and Dublin. David holds an MBA with merit from Imperial College London, is a Chartered Fellow of the Chartered Institute for Securities & Investment (UK), also a Chartered Fellow of the Chartered Management Institute (UK), a Chartered Director (UK) and Member of the Institute of Directors (Ireland). He was appointed to the Board of the HPRA by the Minister for Health in January 2016. David is Chairman of the Governing Body of IADT and is Chairman of the Board of the charity One in Four.

   Barry Quinlan

Barry Quinlan is an Assistant Secretary, heading up Local Government Division, at the Department of Housing; Planning and Local Government. After beginning his career in the private sector Barry has now  over twenty years experience working in the Civil Service. He has worked in the Housing; Planning and Local Government Divisions of the Department. Prior to returning to the Local Government Division Barry worked on housing policy and housing delivery. Barry has worked on Rebuilding Ireland; the Social Housing Strategy; the Housing Assistance Payment Programme; Public Sector Reform; Putting People First; New Local Authority Structures; LG Efficiency Review Implementation; Work-Force Planning; Shared Services; HR initiatives and IR negotiation and change management.

   Michael McGreal

  Michael McGreal was the Company Deputy Chairman of IPB Insurance CLG until 31st December 2018 and Chairman of the Board Remuneration and Nomination Committee. He was a member of Roscommon County Council from 1985 -2014 and served as Chairman of the Council. He was a member of the West Regional and the BMW Regional Authority’s. He was a member of the Board of Inland Fisheries Ireland and an alternate member of the Committee of the Regions from 2010 to 2014.

   Martina Moloney

Martina Moloney was a career official in Irish local government for almost thirty-seven years. She holds a BA and MA in Public Management and a Doctorate in Governance and is a member of the Institute of Accounting Technicians. She worked in eight local authorities and held the post of Director of Community and Enterprise and Corporate Services in Galway City Council, before being appointed as County Manager in County Louth and subsequently as County Manager in Galway prior to her retirement in July 2014.

   Sharon O’Connor

Sharon O’Connor is Chair of the Northern Ireland Education Authority since April 2015 and was previously Chief Executive of Derry City Council from 2011 to 2015. She is a member of the Accounts Commission Scotland. She has had over 20 years’ experience as a Chartered Director, Non-Executive Director, Vice Chair, Committee Chair and Board Member and in 2009/10 was the Institute of Directors, Public Sector Director of the Year.

Normally NOAC has ten members, though currently there are two vacancies on the Board.